

### **Central Committee**

Shawn Parker, Sr., Chair Mark Fowler, Vice Chair & General Council

## **Executive Committee**

Shyra Eichhorn, Chair
Tom Foos, Vice Chair
Kevin Popham, Treasurer
Becca Mount, Secretary
Jeremy Austin, At-large
Jedidiah Bressman, At-large &
Development Co-chair
Jennifer Feucht, At-large
Catlin Frazier, At-large
Karla Herron, At-large
Laura Francati, Communications
Sara Walsh, Development Co-chair

### **Finance Committee**

Steve Cuckler, Esq., Chair Commissioner Jeff Benton Commissioner Barb Lewis Commissioner Gary Merrell Treasurer Don Rankey Ann Marie Hunker Rick Karr Frank Reinhard

# Follow us on:

Facebook.com/DelawareCoGOP

## Connect with us: www.delawaregop.org contact@delawaregop.org

Delaware County Republican Party

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 16, 2023 CONTACT: Chairman Shawn Parker gaingal@yahoo.com

Delaware, OH-

The Delaware County Republican Party thanks Delaware County Sheriff Russell Martin for his steadfast leadership and congratulates him on his retirement from law enforcement after a five decades-long career of service. Sheriff Martin announced his last day in office is April 17. County Commissioners will appoint an interim Sheriff and the Delaware County Republican Party Central Committee will appointment a replacement to carry out the rest of the term which ends January 5, 2025.

In accordance with Ohio Revised Code R.C. 305.02 "The county central committee of the political party that nominated the last occupant of the office as a candidate of the office has the authority to appoint a replacement for that office."

Per ORC 305.02, Central Committee members must vote to appoint an individual to the position not less than five nor more than 45 days after the vacancy. "A majority of the members of the Central Committee present at such meeting may make the appointment."

A vote to appoint a new sheriff will take place on May 11, 2023, at 7:00 pm at Northgate Church, 51 Fourwinds Dr., Sunbury. This will be a public meeting.

Voting will follow Central Committee By-laws:

- A quorum will consist of one-half the total number of Central Committee members present during the meeting at the time of the vote. (Only Central Committee members are permitted to vote.)
- Any Republican seeking the appointment must first meet with the Candidate Screening Sub-committee. Anyone who fails to do so is not eligible to be appointed.
- All eligible candidates will be on the ballot.
- The voting process if there are two or fewer eligible candidates:
  - O The candidate who secures the highest number of votes shall receive the appointment without regard to whether such individual receives a majority of the vote. In the case of a tie one more vote will be taken. If there's another tie, the Executive Committee shall determine the appointment from the two candidates.
- The voting process if there are three or more eligible candidates:
  - The first candidate to receive a majority of the votes shall receive the appointment. If none secure the majority, the candidate who



## **Central Committee**

Shawn Parker, Sr., Chair Mark Fowler, Vice Chair & General Council

## **Executive Committee**

Shyra Eichhorn, Chair
Tom Foos, Vice Chair
Kevin Popham, Treasurer
Becca Mount, Secretary
Jeremy Austin, At-large
Jedidiah Bressman, At-large &
Development Co-chair
Jennifer Feucht, At-large
Catlin Frazier, At-large
Karla Herron, At-large
Laura Francati, Communications
Sara Walsh, Development Co-chair

#### **Finance Committee**

Steve Cuckler, Esq., Chair Commissioner Jeff Benton Commissioner Barb Lewis Commissioner Gary Merrell Treasurer Don Rankey Ann Marie Hunker Rick Karr Frank Reinhard

#### Follow us on:

Facebook.com/DelawareCoGOP

## Connect with us:

www.delawaregop.org contact@delawaregop.org earns the fewest votes is removed from the succeeding ballot and the process is repeated. This process is repeated until a) a candidate secures a majority of the votes cast, or b) two individuals remain, in which case the process moves to the "two or fewer" voting process.

Qualifications for the position are dictated by Ohio Revised Code 311.01. Anyone interested in being considered for the appointment by the DCRP may contact Chairman Shawn Parker.

Shawn Parker
Delaware County Republican Party Chairman
gaingal@yahoo.com

###